October 7, 2008

"Faking It"




What kind of society have we become. A fake one obviously. I often wonder why I don't have many (female) friends. Just a few select super great ones.

I am well liked by most people. I am nice, friendly, and even have socially acceptable behaviour. I don't eat like a pig, I smell good, and tell funny jokes most of the time.


So, why would I not have tons of "girlfriends" who are clammering to hang out with me? Well, because I have obviously not learned how to properly fake excitement about bullshit. I have obviously not learned how to properly pretend to care about status symbols like jewelry, diamonds, and rich men.

Plus there's the fact that I have a life outside my baby boy, have no husband to run home to and take care of, and say what I mean and mean what I say.


Why is it that men don't usually behave that way? I have never unexpectedly run into a male friend, who then starts squeeling about how he has not seen me in forever and we MUST get together for lunch slash dinner slash whatever, and he would have called me if he only - insert excuse here -. This is unique to women only, in my experience. It's so fake. I hate fake. I hate people who pretend to care, but when it comes down to it, they are definitely not available at any cost, especially if it cuts into the time they had allotted to shop, bitch, gossip or wash their hair. That's not friendship. Not in my book. And if that does fit the definition of friendship, I don't want it.


Oh I know, I sound all bitter and pissed off. I am really not. I am quite content and happy. I have just finally gotten to be so comfortable with who I am as a female, a woman, a girl, that I am not willing to put on my fake face to fit in with "the girls". I think my fake face is broken anyway. That, or I have never learned how to properly use it.


And finally, to all of the guys that are single because they can't figure what women want.... Join the club honey. I don't think women know what women want.



1 comment:

~*~Lilly~*~ said...

AMMMMMMEN!! lol I totally wish the "girls" would leave the faking it at the bedroom door. lol Love the post & thanks for being my very first follower..:) I feel special - (& that is not a fake response! ha)

Follow my Ponderings